Follow SD Sport on Social Media

Borussia Düsseldorf are the 2016-2017 Bundesliga champions

(Photo: Holger Straede –

The 2016-2017 German Bundesliga title has gone to Borussia Düsseldorf, after the defending champions saw off TTC Rhönsprudel Fulda-Maberzell by a 0-3 scoreline in the Play-Off final.

Timo Boll, Kristian Karlsson and Anton Källberg were fielded for Düsseldorf while Jonathan Groth, Wang Xi and Ruwen Filus gave it their all for Fulda-Maberzell.

Arguably the opening encounter between Jonathan Groth and Timo Boll was the most exciting battle as the latter player prevailed across four ends in a closely fought duel (11-9, 9-11, 10-12, 3-11).

Düsseldorf completed the victory following positive outcomes for its two Swedish contestants, as Kristian Karlsson and Anton Källberg came through their respective meetings with Wang Xi (5-11, 7-11, 5-11) and Ruwen Filus (6-11, 11-7, 5-11, 9-11).

Playing in front of 2,500 spectators, Borussia Düsseldorf lifted the trophy for the 29th occasion.

To keep up-to-date with the world of table tennis, follow SD Sport on social media and subscribe to our YouTube channel by clicking the respective icons below:


twitter-312464_960_720Google logoYouTube-logo-full_color

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *